HERMeS Conservation Plan
Corfu
The digital documentation of IRC-HERMES was analyzed in detail to produce the 'HERMeS' Pathology Profile of the city, as it is presented below:

Comparing to other cities, one can see that Corfu has a better conservation state of its historic buildings than Samos and Gjirokaster. It is in a similar position with Ohrid.

The historic buildings that are in a critical point and need conservation to avoid huge funding for restoration in the future, are mostly in grade “D” (14%).

Algorithm
A team of experts was chosen to evaluate and classify the twelve (12) variables starting with the most important variable and ending with the less important. The team consisted of scientists, architects, civil engineers, cultural heritage experts and activists. The evaluation of the variables was conducted on-line via an Internet survey process.

HERMeS Conservation Moodboard
The results were adjusted to percentages and then weighted on a scale of 1 to 100. The outcome is the “HERMeS BOARD” of Corfu as presented below:

The Top 10 Buildings That Need Immediate Conservation (Based On Workshops' Results)
Based on the above results, the top 10 buildings (Pathology Grade ‘D’ and ‘E’) that need conservation/restoration in Corfu are the following:)
Rating Position | Building | Location | Photo | Details |
---|---|---|---|---|
1 | Aghios AikateriniThe building coplex of Aghia Aikaterini church is located in the historic town of Corfu, opposite two sides of the complex extending along the narrow streets of Ag. Aikaterinis str. on the north and Ousakof str. on the south. It was initially privately owned by Nikodimos Kariofilaktos, a cleric who funded the construction of the complex on a plot of his own property. Following his death in 1704, the buildings housed a small monk monastery with a capacity of 6 persons. In its current form, the layout of the monument includes a three-storey building--the monastery--on the northern part of the plot and the church of Aghia Aikaterini on the southern part. The church, which has the most important architectural elements, consists of a rectangular main nave, following the proportions of Corfiot churches (2:1) and is 6,50m tall. To the east of the main nave is the Holy Altar or “Ierón”, separated with a wooden iconostasis. The narthex and the woman’s gallery–the “gynaekonitis”--are also of wooden construction. In the interior of the church, the ceiling, widely known in the Ionian Islands as “Ourania”, is made up by flat wooden planks affixed to the roof. The iconostasis, which has wooden carved decorations, contains features of Baroque style and it is articulated with three horizontal zones: the base, main body and crowning. The windows on the facades are surrounded by stone frames and they are topped with semi-circular arches. The main entrance doorway of the church is elaborately decorated and it has an arch with a carved keystone. The most distinctive feature of the exterior of the church is the belfry, situated above the southern facade of the church. It is a structure in the form of a pierced wall, organized in three horizontal zones separated with stone strips. Bibliography: 1. The Old Town of Corfu, Nomination for inclusion on the World Heritage List, Athens. 2. Δήμος Κερκυραίων, Διεύθυνση Τεχνικών Υπηρεσιών, 2010, Γραφείο Μελετών. Αποκατάσταση και ανάδειξη συγκροτήματος Αγίας Αικατερίνης, Τεχνική Έκθεση, Κέρκυρα. | ![]() | open | |
2 | Private buildingPrivate Building, Evgeniou Voulgareos 100 – Ιδιωτικό κτήριο, Ευγενίου Βουλγάρεως 100 This building is located on Evgeniou Voulgareos Street, one of the primary commercial streets of the historic center of the town of Corfu. It belongs to the multi-storey apartment-block type with a wide-facade design. The ground floor accommodates retail stores while a separate entrance at the back side of the building leads to the apartments of the upper floors. The design of all three facades involves a rhythmical arrangement of openings. The side facades are simple and organized with the repetition of a wide number of windows, crowned with a simple cornice. Greater importance is given to the architectural fashioning of the main facade of the building. The arcaded portico of the ground floor includes four symmetrical arches. A stone balconies, situated on the second floor, is centrally situated as is the 3rd floor balcony of which the corbels and slab are made of reinforced concrete . The building has a wooden, tile-covered gable roof. | ![]() | open | |
3 | Private building, ListonUrb_096.1- Urb_096.9 Τhe multi-storey, residential building complex, widely known as “Liston”, is one of the most outstanding architectural works which determine to a great extent the architectural character of the town. It is located on the west side of Spianada Square, which occupies one-third of the surface area of the Old Town and divides the town from the Old Citadel. The idea of constructing one extra front row of buildings in front of the eastern border of the town was introduced by the military engineers of the Venetian rule. In the early 18th century, Marshal Scholemburg approved the construction of the building, as he considered that the decrease of the surface of the square caused by the new complex would not adversely affect the defense of the town. Eventually, the construction of the Liston Complex began during the Second French rule (French Empire, 1807-1814). It was executed in several steps, and it was completed during the British rule. The design and to some extent the supervision of the construction works was assigned to the Greek civil engineer Ioannis Parmesan. It had four buildings on the southern part and five more on the northern part. The two parts were separated by Nikiforou Theotoki Street, one of the main commercial streets of the town. By the end of 1822, a significant part of the building complex was completed and it was used as the residence of the consulates of Turkish and Austrian Consul Generals, while it also accommodated the “British Hotel”, which was the best hotel of the town. The ground floor was given over to recreational activities. The Liston Complex provides the main evidence of the French presence on Corfu Island. The rhythmical repetition of its architectural features on the main facade, especially the elegant arcade, reflects the monumental concept of urban planning standards of the Napoleonic period in straight, identical layouts like that of the Rue de Rivoli in Paris. However, the morphological elements follow earlier standards. In the late 18th and early 19th centuries, the street in front of the building complex became the center of leisure activities and civil functions of the town. To this day, the Corfiots go on their public stroll along the pedestrian street, and they socialize in the open space of the arcade on the ground floor, where coffee-places and restaurants are accommodated. Bibliography: 1. Αγοροπούλου- Μπιρμπίλη Α., 2002, Κέρκυρα, Αστική Αρχιτεκτονική Περιόδου Αγγλοκρατίας, Αθήνα. 2. Αγοροπούλου- Μπιρμπίλη Α., 2001, Το έργο του Κερκυραίου μηχανικού Ιωάννη Πάρμεζαν, Κέρκυρα. 3. Hellenic Ministry of Culture, 2006, The Old Town of Corfu, Nomination for inclusion on the World Heritage List, Athens. | ![]() | open | |
4 | Angelo's Giallinas Art GalleryThis residence is part of the urban waterfront of the town along Kapodistriou street and is situated at the northern side of Spianada Square, adjacent to other buildings of great importance, such as the Ionian Academy and the Cavalieri Hotel. It originally belonged to the Quartano family, whose crest can still be found on the well located in the garden of the property. In the 19th century, the building became the property of the Yalinas family and, in 1857, the distinguished painter Angelos Yiallinas was born and lived there. The mansion, dating from the Venetian period, has been subjected to a series of modifications and additions, the latest of which were made according to the designs of the renowned Corfiot architect Ioannis Chronis. The building is one of the most remarkable examples of bourgeois residences in Corfu. The main facade on Kapodistriou street has several notable morphological elements: The portico on the ground floor, which was added in the 17th century, is shaped by five arches, supported by stone pillars with capitals and engraved bases. Each arch is crowned with a decorative keystone corbel. The top of the portico forms the first floor balcony, which is decorated with wrought iron decorative handrails. A smaller balcony is formed along the northern side of the second floor. Today, the building is the property of the “Angelos Giallinas Art Gallery” foundation. While it has been abandoned for several years, a restoration study has been commissioned by the foundation and the building is going to operate as a permanent exhibition of the artistic work of the famous water-colourist A.Yallinas. Bibliography: 1. Hellenic Ministry of Culture, 2006, The Old Town of Corfu, Nomination for inclusion on the World Heritage List, Athens. 2. Αγοροπούλου- Μπιρμπίλη Α., 1976, Η αρχιτεκτονική της πόλεως της Κέρκυρας κατά την περίοδο της Ενετοκρατίας, ΕΜΠ, Αθήνα. 3. Κοσκινά Μ., Βέργης Σ., Κουλούρης Μ., Ευθυμιάδης Α., Κουλούρη Δ., 2013, Μελέτη Αποκατάστασης & Επανάχρησης Ιστορικού Διατηρητέου Κτιρίου Ιδιοκτησιας «Πινακοθήκη Άγγελου Γιαλλινά» στην Κέρκυρα, ‘Ιδρυμα «Πινακοθήκη Άγγελου Γιαλλινά», Κέρκυρα. 4. https://www.nationalgallery.gr/el/zographikh-monimi-ekthesi/painter/giallinas-aggelos.html | ![]() | open | |
5 | Old LawcourtsThis building is situated on the coastal road at the northern border of the town, close to the old harbor. It was originally erected in the 20th century, probably between the two World Wars. It accommodated the Lawcourts which, during the British rule, were housed in the palace built in the 18th century as the residence of the Catholic Archbishop. The design of the facades has an official character and the they have features of classical style. The main facade of the building has a monumental articulation, which is comprised of three sections. The entrance is situated in the projecting central section. A portico is situated on the level of the first floor, and it is supported by six tall ionic columns, which are highlighted by the wall behind them, painted in a bold variation of red. Bibliography: 1. Αγοροπούλου- Μπιρμπίλη Α., 2002, Κέρκυρα, Αστική Αρχιτεκτονική Περιόδου Αγγλοκρατίας, Αθήνα. 2. Hellenic Ministry of Culture, 2006, The Old Town of Corfu, Nomination for inclusion on the World Heritage List, Athens. | ![]() | open | |
6 | Private building, ListonUrb_096.1- Urb_096.9 Τhe multi-storey, residential building complex, widely known as “Liston”, is one of the most outstanding architectural works which determine to a great extent the architectural character of the town. It is located on the west side of Spianada Square, which occupies one-third of the surface area of the Old Town and divides the town from the Old Citadel. The idea of constructing one extra front row of buildings, in front of the eastern border of the town, was introduced by the military engineers of the Venetian rule. In the early 18th century, Marshal Scholemburg approved the construction of the building, as he considered that the decrease of the surface of the square caused by the new complex would not adversely affect the defense of the town. Eventually, the construction of the Liston Complex began during the Second French rule (French Empire, 1807-1814). It was executed in several steps and it was completed during the British rule. The design and to some extent the supervision of the construction works was assigned to the Greek civil engineer Ioannis Parmesan. It had four buildings on the southern part and five more on the northern part. The two parts were separated by Nikiforou Theotoki Street, one of the main commercial streets of the town. By the end of 1822, a significant part of the building complex was completed and it was used as the residence of the consulates of Turkish and Austrian Consul Generals, while it also accommodated the “British Hotel”, which was the best hotel of the town. The ground floor was given over to recreation rooms. The Liston Complex provides the main evidence of the French presence on Corfu Island. The rhythmical repetition of its architectural features on the main facade, especially the elegant arcade, reflects the monumental concept of urban planning standards of the Napoleonic period in straight, identical layouts like that of the Rue de Rivoli in Paris. However, the morphological elements follow earlier standards. In the late 18th and early 19th centuries, the street in front of the building complex became the center of leisure activities and civil functions of the town. To this day, the Corfiots go on their public stroll along the pedestrian street, and they socialize in the open space of the arcade on the ground floor, where coffee places and restaurants are accommodated. Bibliography: 1. Αγοροπούλου- Μπιρμπίλη Α., 2002, Κέρκυρα, Αστική Αρχιτεκτονική Περιόδου Αγγλοκρατίας, Αθήνα. 2. Αγοροπούλου- Μπιρμπίλη Α., 2001, Το έργο του Κερκυραίου μηχανικού Ιωάννη Πάρμεζαν, Κέρκυρα. 3. Hellenic Ministry of Culture, 2006, The Old Town of Corfu, Nomination for inclusion on the World Heritage List, Athens. | ![]() | open | |
7 | Kapodistrias mansionThis building is situated on the waterfront of the town, adjacent to the Corfu Reading Society, the Commissioner’s Palace and a number of upper-class residences. The property belonged to Count George Capodistrias (1773-1841) and the building was erected in the place of the Venetian mansion that previously stood on the plot. The building later came into the possession of the Septinsular of the President of the Senate. After the unification of the Ionian islands with Greece it housed the prefecture offices. Today it is owned by the Ionian University. The mansion was designed in about 1832 by the renowned Corfiot architect Ioannis Chronis. The morphological elements of the exterior of the building, the decorations and materials in the interior and the quality of the construction are exceptional. The composition of the facade has a monumental character, greatly influenced by classical standards. The central section projects slightly and the main storeys are emphasized by very tall Corinthian pilasters of red local stone. Other notable morphological elements are the cornice with two side-corbels situated above the main entrance of the building, the stone balusters and the wrought iron railings at the windowsills, the decorative wreaths in relief and the horizontal, continuous cornice. With regards to the interior of the building, the layout and the decorations reflect the status of the owners. The entrance hall has a vaulted ceiling supported by four columns. The stairs leading to the upper floors are of great design and the ceilings of the main living rooms were decorated with early modern paintings. The building was heated by fireplaces, with stone or wooden frames, installed in most rooms and the floors are covered with luxurious materials such as wood or stone. The ceiling of the living room on the first floor is decorated with a watercolor painting of high artistic value, depicting floral motifs and landscapes of the island of Corfu. The first owners of the building deserve special mention: the family of Capodistrias is one of the oldest families in Corfu, with presence in the political, economic and social affairs. Ioannis Capodistrias (1778-1831), one of the greatest figures of 19th-century Greece, was a diplomat and politician. He was elected as the first governor of Greece but throughout his career he also served as the foreign minister of Russia and contributed to the formation of the Swiss federation, implementing the system of cantons. Other distinguished members of the family were Antonios Maria Capodistrias (1741 – 1821), who was involved in the political life of Corfu and Maria Capodistria – Desylla (1898 – 1980), the first woman mayor in Greece. Bibliography: 1. Αγοροπούλου – Μπιρμπίλη A., 1997, Η ζωή και το έργο του Αρχιτέκτονα Ιωάννη Χρόνη, Τεχνικό Επιμελητήριο Ελλάδας - Τμήμα Κέρκυρας, Χορηγός Ιονική Τράπεζα, Κέρκυρα. 2. ΜΕΑΣ ΕΠΕ, 2003, Αποκατάσταση & Επανάχρηση του Παλαιού & Νέου Μεγάρου Καποδίστρια στην Κέρκυρα, Ιόνιο Πανεπιστήμιο, Κέρκυρα. 3. Hellenic Ministry of Culture, 2006, The Old Town of Corfu, Nomination for inclusion on the World Heritage List, Athens. 4. https://capodistriasmuseum.com/en/ | ![]() | open | |
8 | Private buildingΤhis building is located in the heart of the historic center of the town of Corfu, behind the Liston building complex. It is comprised of four storeys. The ground floor has a commercial use, while there are apartments and offices on the three upper floors. It is distinguished by its significant size and the wealth of particular morphological details found on the facades. As it is dated from the early 20th century, the design of the building is differentiated from the morphological features which predominated in Corfiot architecture during the past periods. In this case, the composition of the facades is greatly influenced by late Historicism (pilasters with a strong Mannerist character, etc.). To summarize, this is an eclectic structure of extrovert style, of a type commonly found in this period in similar buildings in large urban centers. Bibliography: 1. Αγοροπούλου- Μπιρμπίλη Α., 1976, Η αρχιτεκτονική της πόλεως της Κέρκυρας κατά την περίοδο της Ενετοκρατίας, ΕΜΠ, Αθήνα. 2. Hellenic Ministry of Culture, 2006, The Old Town of Corfu, Nomination for inclusion on the World Heritage List, Athens. | ![]() | open | |
9 | Private buildingPrivate building, Vlassopoulou str & 46 Kapodistriou – Ιδιωτικό κτήριο, Βλασσοπούλου & Καποδιστριυ Τhis multi-storey urban building with a narrow facade is located at the corner of Vlassopoulou and Kapodistriou Street at a very short distance from Esplanade square. The ground floor has a commercial use, while the three upper floors and the attic are residences. The construction of the ground floor and the first floor dates from the Venetian period while the next three floors were added later. Its form, as we know it today has been subjected to various alterations, as evident from the concrete balconies and the openings on the ground floor. Morphologically, the building is characterized by the rhythmical distribution of the openings. On the side facade, it is worth mentioning that the windows located above the main entrance, which light the central staircase, do not follow the rhythmical arrangement of the rest of the windows on the facade. The most particular feature of the exterior is the structural element elaborated above the narrow passage which exists between this building and the neighboring building: three beams, on the level of the ground floor, the first floor and the second floor connect the two buildings. Each one of them has an arch with a keystone in relief. Bibliography: 1. Αγοροπούλου- Μπιρμπίλη Α., 1976, Η αρχιτεκτονική της πόλεως της Κέρκυρας κατά την περίοδο της Ενετοκρατίας, ΕΜΠ, Αθήνα. 2. Αγοροπούλου- Μπιρμπίλη Α., 2002, Κέρκυρα, Αστική Αρχιτεκτονική Περιόδου Αγγλοκρατίας, Αθήνα. | ![]() | open | |
10 | Ventura mansionThis building is situated on a privileged site, next to the Kapodistrias mansion and opposite the Corfu Reading Society. The property belonged to a wealthy Corfiot family that owned the largest brick-factory in Corfu at Mantouki. The mansion was built during the British rule and in 1840 the two top floors were added according to the drawings of the architect G. Groni. Two years later, the small building situated in the courtyard at the rear of the residence was built based on drawings that are attributed to the renowned Corfiot architect Ioannis Chronis. The relevant building permits can be found in the General State Archive. The size, location and morphology of the residence is indicative of the status of the owners. To this day, the building remains in an excellent state of preservation. The design of the exterior of the building has interesting morphological details. First, the ground floor forms a kind of base, as it is divided from the other floors with a double zone and one of its sides is constructed with dressed masonry. The composition of the facades is organized by a large number of windows and balconies on the upper floors, which are centrally situated. Other notable morphological elements are the wide cornice at the top and the exposed cornerstones. Bibliography: 1. Αγοροπούλου- Μπιρμπίλη Α., 2002, Κέρκυρα, Αστική Αρχιτεκτονική Περιόδου Αγγλοκρατίας, Αθήνα. 767/ p.48-drawing: 49a 2. Hellenic Ministry of Culture, 2006, The Old Town of Corfu, Nomination for inclusion on the World Heritage List, Athens. p. 374 3. Αγοροπούλου – Μπιρμπίλη A., 1997, Η ζωή και το έργο του Αρχιτέκτονα Ιωάννη Χρόνη, Τεχνικό Επιμελητήριο Ελλάδας - Τμήμα Κέρκυρας, Χορηγός Ιονική Τράπεζα, Κέρκυρα. | ![]() | open |
Methodology
The development of IRC-HERMES algorithms is based on several research publications for 'Heritage Management e-System' (aka HERMeS), that was first applied in the city of Hermoupolis (Syros, Cyclades, Greece):